top of page

The Shape of Us - Snippet


I anchored my weave into the trees since they wouldn't be going anywhere and the four corners of the property. I pulled out my knife and pricked my pinkie, squeezing out three drops of blood on the ground in front of me. When could feel the blood had been absorbed by the earth I released the weave to seal the ward.

The weave spread through the clearing like a giant golden and emerald blanket and as it settled about the landscape, it too was absorbed into the earth and I felt a ping of connection establish itself between me and the land and strengthen the link between me and the VIC membership as a collective. The weave disappeared from my Sight and the connection reduced in intensity to a faint feeling of comfort.

If nothing interfered, the ward would slowly dissipate. I could renew it periodically if needed though the connection was permanent.

"You laid down some serious power. The wards are up?” Iain asked, he sounded impressed.

I nodded. "The wards will defend against most threats, but they can be broken and I'll know if that happens.” The spell backlash would be hell, but it would alert me. I cleaned my knife and returned it to my sheath. "Could you see the magic?" I asked curiously.

"No, but I can feel the working of it. It feels and smells like you.” I raised my eyebrows in surprise.

He shouldered his back pack. "Are we done here?" He seem ready to go, obviously he had somewhere to be.

"Yep, now we keep an eye on Dylan and wait and see if anything else happens here.” I grabbed my pack as well and we walked out to the road.

Iain's motorcycle was parked in front of my car.

"What happened to your car?" I had liked the GTO.

"I sold it to pay off my student loan." Iain said as he put on a scarred black leather jacket. The dark leather made him look even bigger and more dangerous.

He grinned at me over his shoulder. His eyes were telling me he knew I was looking while he straddled the bike.

I turned my back and hurriedly got into my car. I had to go to work in an hour or so and I needed to get my head on straight. Watching Iain didn't help me.

"Never run from a predator, Jess. You know that." His voice was pitched to low sexy reverberation, and yet it carried clearly to me. The hairs on the back of my neck prickled though not from fear, but primal awareness of this alpha male.

"I'm not running," I said quietly. His wolf hearing would pick up my words just fine.

Iain raised his eyebrows at me in a query as he pulled a cell phone from his pocket.

Let him figure out what I meant. I didn't know myself why I had said that. I know he watched me back up my car and complete a U-turn before I drove away. I could feel his predatory gaze on me until I turned the corner.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page