top of page

Snippet from "Trusting the Wolf" - Book 3 VIC Shapeshifters


I woke from the nightmare of killing Geoff Howard, again. Pushing damp bangs off my forehead, I rubbed my eyes, trying to erase the stray visions from the dream. The problem was my dream matched reality, exactly.

Exiting the back door of my small house, I tried to slow my heartbeat as I strode into the dark, walled-in back garden. I concentrated on regulating my breathing and it helped some, but I still had tremors in my hands.

The yard was not much bigger than a postage stamp. Trudy and Guy Tremblay–the property owners–had made the most of the small space. Guy had layered in ground cover, flowers, shrubs, and small trees in an artfully display of colour, texture, and scent. I loved the private backyard and the outdoor shower.

Being surrounded by growing things abetted some of my tension, their scents engulfed me and it felt familiar, but it wasn’t enough.

The shower door opened with a protesting squawk from the metal spring. Stepping inside, I could see the interior clearly, as my wolf sight took over, even though the new moon had not yet risen.

A row of brass hooks held a fresh towel and a bath puff, but I wasn't here to shower, at least not yet.

Everything happens for a reason. ??


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page